Adulting, a Nerve-Wracking Verb

Adulting (v): to do grown up things and hold responsibilities such as a 9-5 job, a mortgage/rent, a car payment, or anything else that makes one think of grown ups.

I cannot believe I’m finally adulting! After 14-years of schooling, I’ve finally finished my educational journey from kindergarten until college!

But you know what?

Even though I’ve finally graduated college, I can’t help but feel like I’m still not completely ready – which is pretty ironic since all those years spent in school were supposed to help me get ready for the real world… But honestly, now that I’m about to work in one of the biggest broadcasting corporations in the country, I can’t help but wonder if I am indeed all set to fulfill my duties as a competent, responsible, and excellent employee. Especially since I’ll be working for a company that I perceive as prestigious, I feel like I have to up my game a thousand times more!

Argh. Am I the only one feeling this way? Mixed feelings of nervousness and excitement? I wonder if my batchmates relate with me in some way… Do they also have thoughts that go like:

“As a fresh graduate, am I ready to make my mark as an individual worth hiring?”
“Will a time come for me to earn my place as a manager and leader?”
“After working for quite some time, will I be able to earn a promotion?”
“Will I be able to budget my money well?”

“Will I be able to handle all the responsibilities of work and independence?”

And all other thoughts alike?

I feel a 360-degree type of unfamiliarity with the new way I have to live my life… it’s quite nerve-wracking, but no doubt exciting! I mean, it’s adulting – an independent journey I’m quite terrified of, yet a new chapter I can’t wait to start. Am I really ready for this? I’ll just have to wait and see…

To all the other fresh graduates out there, I wish you guys the best!

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland,” (Isaiah 43:18-19)

May God’s hands be upon us. We need all the help we can get.

With that all said, let me throw this verse to bring encouragement to all of us fresh grads out there:

[God says:] “For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.” (Isaiah 41:13)

 

×

Shanice Bvrbin
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 


***What are Bible verses? Bible verses are taken from the sacred scriptures of the Holy Bible wherein the Word of God and the gospel are written.

***What is the gospel?  The Gospel is the good news that God became man in Jesus Christ. He lived the life we should have lived and died the death we should have died, in our place. Three days later He rose from the dead, proving that He is the Son of God and offering the gift of salvation and forgiveness of sins for all who repent and believe.

3 Replies to “Adulting, a Nerve-Wracking Verb”

Leave a Reply

